New Beginnings

This WP site, for the time being at least, is where I write the bulk of my drafts and play around a bit. Please see my real site at www.RunningMyMouthOff.com. Thanks for stopping by!

Ok, it’s been a heck of a long time since I’ve posted anything here. Life is, well, life and the craziness that sometimes accompanies it can sometimes make the act of merely doing the minimum appear daunting. Now that both of our girls are in middle school it seems that the number of commitments in our lives have multiplied exponentially as the kids mature and start to make life their own. I liken our new challenges to a street juggler who performs in San Francisco, New York or just about any other major city. Often, they’ll start up with just a few balls, pieces of fruit, knives, babies, etc… (ok, maybe not babies) and then, as the act continues, they’ll add more objects into the routine. At times, I’ve seen performers juggle 8 or 10 items simultaneously, which absolutely blows me away. I mean, I’m sure that there’s a lot of practice, experimentation and failure that goes into this stuff but how in the heck can anyone pay attention to so many things in the air at one time?

From time to time, I’ll grab a few tennis balls and try my hand at the craft. And, every single time, I fail miserably. Sure, I’ll be able to juggle one or two, if you can even call that juggling, but add in that third one and things fall apart quickly. Guess it’s a good thing that I’ve always reached for tennis balls instead of knives or babies. The bottom line is though, I really stink at juggling, whether it’s tennis balls or multiple simultaneous events in my life. So, one thing that’s fallen off to the side over the last few months is writing in general and, by extension, this blog. The will has been there and the ideas have been coming but the ability to get some focused time when I could do anything even remotely creative has been about as plentiful as oranges on the barren orange tree in my back yard.

But, as time has passed, I have been able to remain remarkably consistent with my running, fitting in another 5k and completing my first Half in the San Jose Rock n’ Roll Half Marathon. And, as I’ve been running, I’ve been putting quite a bit of thought into this blog — the things that I want to write about and why in the heck I want a blog in the first place. And, in the end, I think that I simply really love the act of writing.

One thing that I’ve noticed though is that the things that I tend  to write here seem to be less intentional and more the random musings of a forty somethings guy who’s trying to rediscover his youth. As I look at this site, I think about myself and how I’d view the info that I put up here and put it up against style of blogs that keep me coming back to them. So, with that in mind, I’ve been processing over what I want this site to be about and look like. And, as I’ve done this, I’ve been forced to think about the very things that excite me about the process of running — the types of things that surround the lifestyle that most attract my attention. What I’ve boiled it down to is that I really dig learning about two aspects of the running: training and nutrition. So, with that in mind, I’m officially restarting my blog with a focus on those two things, as well as my unfocused random musings — ADD: if you got it, flaunt it. Then again, there’s always the possibility that, like so many of my tennis balls before, this will fall flat on the floor once again. For now though, I hope you enjoy what I write and, if you do, leave me a note and check back soon. If not, keep pounding the pavement or trails and I’ll see you at the finish line — I’ll be the guy looking at the knives and babies with a “Hmmm…I wonder….” look on his face.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

